You are here

Natural Areas

Dedicated Natural Heritage Conservation Areas

Dedicated natural areas in Oregon are called Natural Heritage Conservation Areas. Like federal Research Natural Areas, they are designed to serve educators, researchers, resource managers and the general public with access to Oregon's natural heritage resources far into the future. For an area to be dedicated, it must first be registered, and must also have a management plan describing how the key biological resources will be managed. The Biodoversity Information Center assists state agencies in identifying candidate sites for dedication.

Eight sites are currently dedicated:
Cape Blanco
Cape Meares
Cascade Head
Netarts Spit
Onion Peak
Saddle Mountain
Steens Summit
Winchuck Slope

Additional information on these sites is available from ORBIC.